Booking Through Thursday: Shakespeare

I haven’t felt much like blogging since I returned from Chicago. Much of that is in part because I developed a case of bronchitis that pretty much knocked me off my feet. So, I’m going to try and get back on track.

Thursday’s meme is Booking Through Thursday and the question is:

Okay, show of hands … who has read Shakespeare OUTSIDE of school required reading? Do you watch the plays? How about movies? Do you love him? Think he’s overrated?

In college I had to take an entire semester of Shakespeare, so I developed an appreciation for him. Since college, I have not just picked up a play and and said, “Let me read . . .” I have however, tried reading some of his sonnets. And I do mean try. I’m not that much into poetry, but I give a shot from time-to-time. Unless a Shakespearean poem is being read to me by the likes of Captain Jean Luke Picard, I typically don’t get it.

As far as going to the theatre to see his plays, I haven’t done that in a long time; which is completely unacceptable because we have the Shakespeare Theatre Company right here in DC as well as so many other venues that perform Shakepeare’s plays. One troop I want to see is Synetic Theatre. According to their website:

SYNthesis: the coming together of distinct elements to form a whole
KinETIC: pertaining to or imparting motion, active, dynamic
SYNETIC: a dynamic synthesis of the arts

I don’t much care for the modern movies. For whatever reason, I feel as though they lack the creativity and/or talent to really compete with their movie classic predecessors or plays. The 1996 version of Romeo and Juliet had some potential, but fell seriously flat and in writing this I found out there was a 2013 version.

Now on to: Do I love him and/or think he’s overrated?

The jury is still out. I don’t love him nor do I hate him. He is an acquired taste and he is hard to read just because of the language, but if you see it performed or hear a good audio production of his plays than its pretty phenomenal. His contribution to the arts then and now is unmistakable. He must be given his props since he accomplished quite a bit in his lifetime.

There are other playwrites that I find much more interesting than Shakespeare — like Sphocles who wrote over 120 plays. Some of the greatest tragedies in the world. Unfortunately many of them didn’t survive, but The Theban Plays (Oedipus Plays) are his most well known.

If you haven’t read The Theban Plays please do so as you will see Sophocles’ influence on Shakespeare.

The End~~

Leave a Reply

