Top Ten Tuesday – Books I want to Read

Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet
from the Broke and the Bookish

toptentuesday

 

I try my best to keep my arsenal of books pretty diverse. Perhaps that’s because when I was in college as an English Lit major the primary focus was on British and American Literature. In other words mostly European white males. Not very diversified at all. There was an African-American Literature course but that was it. As a result of not having a lot of literary variety, I feel like I’ve missed out on some pretty spectacular authors and it’s true, I have.

1. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Why not read the book that holds the Guinness Book of World Records for being the most translated novel? I also want to read it because folks I’ve to about it say it’s awful. Kind of morbid curiosity.

2. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
I have the movie and refuse to watch it until I’ve read the book.

3. The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie
I’ve always wanted to read this to find out why this novel sparked so much controversy and why Ayatollah Khomeini put a bounty out for Rushdie.

4. The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore
I’m really not into autobiographies, but this one caught my attention. It’s the story of “two kids with the same name living in the same decaying city. One grew up to be a Rhodes Scholar, decorated combat veteran, White House Fellow, and business leader. The other is serving a life sentence for felony murder.” So, what makes these Wes Moores who they are today?

5. Night Circus by Erin Morganstern
I read an excerpt of this one day on my iPad and was quite intrigued. I’ve passed it up in the bookstore and watched people reading it intently on the train to and from work, but I have yet to take the leap. It’s not what I usually read, so I’m a bit skeptical.

6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Why not? It’s supposedly one of the greatest novels ever written. It’s been a successful movie and play. I think what intrigues me the most is the pages I’ve perused remind me of some Charles Dickens work.

7. Shanghai Girls and Dreams of Joy by Lisa See
These two novels follow sisters, Pearl and May. In Shanghai Girls they are married off to Chinese Americans because their father gambled away their fortunes and despite their traditional family, Pearl and May are throughly modern. In Dreams of Joy Pearl goes on a journey to save her daughter who has run away to China to find her biological father. Danger lies ahead as Pearl enters Red China and encounters demons from her past.

8. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosney
This novel isn’t particularly in my wheelhouse either as a portion of it deals with the Holocaust, but the description got me to read a couple of chapters in the bookstore and I really enjoyed de Rosney’s writing style. I’m not a reader of historical novels but the history is woven beautifully into the novel. I’ve heard really good things about it and I’m interested to see if it’s as good as the couple of chapters I read and all the positive reviews.

9. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Another novel that is out of my wheelhouse. A magic realism novel. I’m not really sure what to make out of that. This is another one of those novels that people I have read and enjoyed and I just feel a little left out by having not read it.

10. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
I haven’t quite figured out why I want to read this novel other than everyone else I know has read it and it only seems right. Everyone has enjoyed it and they all have different tastes in reading, so that says something.

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I want to Read

  1. Pingback: 14 Books I Want to Read but Never Remember to | Zezee with Books

    • I’ve read a few pages and it caught my attention fairly quickly, so perhaps once I’m done with some other books I might get started on this. I feel like I need a long vacation to really get in to it based on the comments of my friends and @caitlinstern.

      Like

  2. Diversity in reading is always a good thing! I’ve read a few of these books, and I enjoy Murakami, but he is… weird. Deeply weird, like a dream. 1Q84 is a big book, but an interesting story.

    Like

    • I’ve heard the story is a weird and that’s kind of why I’m interested in it. The size of it is daunting, so when I buy it I will probably purchase the set of three books to reduce not only the angst of reading it but the weight in bag.

      Like

Leave a Reply

