Top Ten Tuesday – Recommended Reading

Top Ten Tuesday a weekly meme and link up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week we were asked to list the Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read.
toptentuesday

  1. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
  2. Song of Fire and Ice by George R. R. Martin
  3. Divergent Series by Veronica Roth
  4. The Goldfinch by Donna Tart
  5. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  6. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James
  7. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  9. Any book by Janet Evanovich
  10. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

Have any of these been a recommendation? Have you recommend any of them?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recommended Reading

  1. Someone recommended The Goldfinch to me too!
    Gone Girl seems to divide people; some say it truly is gripping,while others call it horrible!
    I’ve heard good things about The Kite Runner,and The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a favourite of many! I should read both books!
    Finally The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao seems very interesting.I think it won a prestigious literary prize as well!

    Like

    • I’ve read the first chapter The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and so far it’s piqued my interest.

      I’ve heard mixed reviews about Gone Girl too. I get the feeling it’s either a you love it or you hate it book. I’m not sure about The Goldfinch though. There are some die hard Donna Tart fans out there that didn’t like it. If I decide to read it I’ll have to get read on my eReader because it’s such a behemoth.

      Like

      • No I haven’t, but I’ve seen a lot of people reading it and it has a place in the bestsellers section of my local book store, so I had the impression that it was quite good. And Dark Places? Flynn’s other novel right? How far are you into it?

        Like

      • Dark Places is Flynn’s second novel and I’m about 100 pages in. I like the premise, but sometimes for me it rambles on a bit and I lose focus and interest. So far, I think she’s a pretty solid writer.

        Like

      • It’s hard to say since not even 100 pages into it. So far, I’m enjoying it. She’s very descriptive, which bores me a bit, but what I’m gathering is necessary for the story and I understand other readers like/prefer a lot of description.

        Where I am in the book it’s a maybe for recommendation. I’ll give you a more definitive answer this weekend. I plan to get as close to finished as possible.

        Like

Leave a Reply

