Day 14 – 30 Day Book Challenge

What is your favorite book by your favorite writer

Yesterday’s 30 Day Book Challenge prompt was: Your Favorite Writer. I’m an overachiever, so I listed 10 of my favorite writers. Today, I’m not going to go that far today.

One of my favorite authors is Mark Twain and the book I most enjoy from him is The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. It continues to land in the top 20 on the American Library Association’s banned and challenged book list, primarily because of its use of offensive language (i.e. “Nigger” and “Injun Joe”).

The language is what I absolutely love about the book. It’s colorful and the use of dialect is supurb. It’s realistic and it’s a book that is anti-slavery and anti-racist. Read deeply one can see how Twain uses the language to show how stupid racism is and those that condone it are, which is being missed because people are so hung up on Twain’s word choice.

I also love The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn because it puts two runaways together who become best friends inspite of race and what social conventions say;but most importantly it brings race to the forefront, which is something we still can’t talk about in 2014.

Some people say that the language is outdated and they can’t relate to it and perhaps it is. But I think people are afraid of the language and don’t know how to address the negativity behind Twain’s word choice. In a nutshell people don’t know how to address the problem of race that has plagued this country long before Twain wrote Huck Finn and still plague us today.

I wrote a post on my blog 20/20 HInes Sight on Huck Finn as it relates to Should Literature Be Changed to Be Politically Correct? Feel free to check it out and share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

