Day 2 of the 30 Day Book Challenge

A book that you’ve read more than 3 times 

I’ve read Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre more than three times and each time I come away with something new. I remember reading it in high school and hating it because it seemed as though she didn’t fight hard enough. I also read it twice in college as an English Literature major.

I read it for a British Literature class and a Women in Literature class, I began to really understand why it seemed she didn’t fight. But I also realized that she did fight back quite a lot, actually. Maybe not physically, but she could give a good tongue lashing when provoked. I began to admire Jane’s strength and perseverance and that in spite of the mistreatment she received at the hands of her stepmother and stepbrother and sister and Lowood School, she was stronger than all of them put together.

Since college, I’ve read it with an uncritical eye (or rather attempted to) and have found that Jane Eyre is such a multi-layered work and it talks about things we still really don’t even talk about today (such as child abuse, mental illness). It’s about finding love when you thought you were unlovable. It’s about the strength and courage to survive when everyone else around you wants you dead. It’s about finding your voice when everyone else wants to be quite. It’s about forgiveness.

I could go on, but I won’t. If you’ve never read it, pick it up from your local library or download it on your e-reader or buy it and take a weekend and read it.

Here’s one of my favorite quotes from Jane Eyre

Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity or registering wrongs.

30 Day Book Challenge

And don’t forget if you’re joining in put your link in the comments section, so I can stop by and read your answers.

Leave a Reply

