Quote of the Day — Television is educating

“I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.”
~~ Groucho Marx

I don’t know why, but when I saw this quote I immediately thought about the movie Mathilda based off the children’s book by Ronald Dahl, when Danny DeVitto’s character says to her after she asks for a book:

“What do you want a book for? Why would you want to read? When you have the television set right in front of you. There’s nothing you can get from a book that you can’t get from the TV faster.”

This a great movie!

Hmmm, I think I’m going to have to add Matilda to my rediscover list.

Leave a Reply

